A Mantel and Trim

Last time we left off, our built-ins were looking like this

2016-04-24 08.44.09

We were needing a mantel, crown molding, and some additional trim around the fireplace hearth.

I wanted the mantel to stand out. There was a lot of white going on and I thought a wood rustic wood beam would contrast nicely. Of course, I have no idea where to buy a beam, but I did come across a few tutorials that inspired me to create a faux-beam mantel.

This one is actually for floating shelves, but the same principle applies.

And this other one, Β is great for those of you who have stone fireplaces (ahem, Dad)

We started with the inside frame of the mantel constructed with 2x4s

2016-04-30 21.21.55

Then, 1x boards were ripped down and attached to the frame using screws and wood glue

2016-04-30 21.37.38

2016-04-30 22.21.54

Everything was clamped and left to dry overnight. Then if was time for my favorite part!

I sanded the mantel down and wiped down the dust to prepare the surface for stain. Staining is always my favorite part, it quickly transforms a piece of wood into something special. Perfect for those like me who have instant gratification issues haha

I wanted something dark but weathered, so I actually combined 2 stains to make my own custom stain: Minwax Dark Walnut and Minwax Classic Gray.

2016-05-01 13.35.32

Sour cream container for mixing stains totally optional πŸ™‚

2016-05-01 13.42.53

Also, always wear gloves when staining. I’ve learned the hard way.

2016-05-01 13.49.25

After drying it was time to hang it up!

2016-06-02 12.30.06

2016-06-02 12.30.14

Some extra trim was added to the hearth and built-ins for a more polished look. The crown molding was a pain to put up, the angles were hard because our ceiling is slightly slanted at a 14 degree angle. But after a minor meltdown and a few too many mistakes it was done. And I love the height it adds to the room. But in the future this might be a job I hire out.

2016-06-02 10.19.00

I also gave everything a coat of clear satin polyurethane to protect it. So at this point, we just need it to dry and then we can finally load up the shelves!

 

Thanks for stopping by!

Marissa

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Mantel and Trim

Leave a Reply

